Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

The Western Carolina University Board of Trustees is composed of 13 members chosen as follows:



  • Eight are elected by the UNC Board of Governors
  • Four appointed by the NC General Assembly
  • The president of the student government of the institution, ex-officio

The Board’s role is to promote the sound development of Western Carolina University, helping WCU to serve the people of the state in a way that will complement the activities of other UNC institutions and aiding WCU to perform with excellence in every area of endeavor.

The Board serves as advisor to the Board of Governors on matters pertaining to the institution and as an advisor to the Chancellor concerning the management and development of WCU.

Board of Trustees Meeting

July 10, 2024

8:30 a.m. | Special Called Meeting

View the Livestream

Board of Trustees Members




Rebecca Brown



Casey Cooper


Joseph Crocker

Joseph Crocker


BOT Hoyle-Rivera

Aaron Hoyle-Rivera

SGA President, Ex-Officio

Office of Web Services